As a users you can delete your entire accounts. After the account is deleted the profile information and private messages will be deleted, and other content you created will be anonymized.
You will be clearly informed about what will happen to your personal data after the account has been deleted.
In order to delete the account, you need to choose the 'delete account' option on the cancel account page. You can reach this page via the cancel account button on the settings page.